Daily Prompt: I’m Talking Loud, Not Saying Much

“You shout it out,
But I can’t hear a word you say
I’m talking loud not saying much
I’m criticized but all your bullets ricochet
You shoot me down, but I get up”
David Guetta – Titanium Lyrics | MetroLyrics

I’ve always grappled with responding to, “How are you?”.

It’s easy to say, “Great, how about you?” if you are responding to a polite stranger, then segue into polite small talk.  You can talk forever, without saying much – politics, the weather, where to eat, it’s endless.

But when it comes to those who have known you forever, a trite reply is not going to fly.  But how do you gently rebuff well-meant friends when you just are not in a “spill your guts” mood?

I’ve found that it pays to be honest.  You can’t really fool people.  If you’re not in a good place and unwilling to share, just say it. A mature friendship can weather these periods of silences and shut doors.  When you’re ready, pop the door open and invite your loved ones in.  Don’t allow yourself to lump your nearest and dearest, with the rest of the world.  If you can put on your game face to the world, by talking loud and not saying much, your friends and family deserve more than that.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I’m Talking Loud, Not Saying Much

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: What’s my work really like? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Oh, All My Friends Are Turning Green [A Vignette/Flash Fiction] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

