Daily Prompt: Secret of Success? Reflect, Respond and Resonate!

In vino (or sangria) veritas.  Authentic experiences resonate.

In vino (or sangria) veritas. Authentic experiences resonate.

Daily Prompt: What would it take for you to consider yourself a “successful blogger”? Is that something you strive for?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us EFFORT.

Blogging for me is a form of self-expression and an agent for personal growth. I write because this is the medium that best allows me to examine the world and challenge the filters through which I view it.  As the poet Mary Oliver so aptly put it:

“And that is just the point… how the world, moist and beautiful, calls to each of us to make a new and serious response. That’s the big question, the one the world throws at you every morning. “Here you are, alive. Would you like to make a comment?” 

The way I live my life is my response to the world’s call to existence.  But I write to remember, preserve a snapshot of my thoughts and feelings and reflect on my experiences.  My blog is intended to be a repository of my comment on life.

But I have joined a community because to write for myself seems limiting. There is no exchange of ideas and without new ideas, there is no growth.  As such, my hope is that my writing resonates within the community.  Someone who comes to my little space and feels a connection with my ideas or experiences, disagrees violently with what I say or is prompted to develop a thought further – these are my parameters for successful blogging.  That is why every like, comment or pingback is appreciated.  I’m happy to be at an age where these would no longer feed my vanity.  Now, these would all be hallmarks of a connection made somewhere on the planet with someone who may see the world through a different filter.  I am then allowed to look through the lens of another and we all profit from this exchange.

In the end, we all respond very strongly to truths.  In our gut we know when something rings false or is insincere.  My hope is that my truths meet yours as we write, read and share about our really very short time on Earth.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Secret of Success? Reflect, Respond and Resonate!

  1. Pingback: Am I really concerned with being a successful blogger? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

