When Art Elevates

I was trying to recall a moment when my senses were swamped and overwhelmed.

It was easy to say: first trip to Paris or first time to see the Sagrada Familia or walking through the Orsay Museum. But these were dreams on my bucket list. I knew there would be a sense of awe once these became part of my life experience.  Then I remembered beautiful Norway and the wonder of that trip.

Norway was never on my bucket list. Save for a lingering teenage wish to meet Morten Harket of a-ha. But I was lucky to meet some wonderful Norwegians who have becomes lifelong friends.  On my sabbatical, they opened their homes to me and suddenly, Norway was on my itinerary.

What I wanted to share was the beautiful wonders of the Vigeland Park.    On a lovely day in late August, without really knowing what to expect, I traveled to Vigeland Park.  It was a hit in the gut.  I feel that my words are inadequate to explain the emotional impact of Vigeland’s sculptures amidst the beauty of a gorgeous green park and gentle blue sky.  All I can share are my photos.  Have you gone somewhere and felt all your jadedness float away?  Perhaps the magic is in not knowing and feeling wonderfully gifted by the unexpected.  This was what Vigeland Park was to me.

IMG_2966 IMG_3002 IMG_3004 IMG_3010 IMG_3011 IMG_3017 IMG_3027 IMG_3028 IMG_3064 IMG_3080 

Leave a Reply

